Industrial Development Authority


The IDA meets the third Monday of each month at 3 p.m. at the Economic Development Office, 2105 Lee Street, Covington, Ga.


Members are an appointee of the Newton County Board of Commissioners, Mayor of the City of Covington and the President of the Newton County Chamber of Commerce. The remaining two members are at-large members elected by the other three IDA members.

  • Lanier Sims, At-large member, Chairman
  • Marcello Banes, Newton County Chairman
  • Steve Horton, Covington Mayor
  • Debbie Harper, Chamber of Commerce President
  • Bill Dobbs, At-large member