Board of Elections

Regular Meetings

  • 4 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of every month
  • Board of Elections Office
    1113 Usher Street
    Suite 103
    Covington, GA 30014


The current members are:
  • Chairman
    Hugh Steele
    Term Expires December 31, 2022
  • Democratic Appointee
    Kelly Robinson
    Term Expires December 31, 2021
  • Republican Appointee
    Dustin Thompson
    Term Expires December 31, 2022

Board Overview

The Board of Elections has three members. Each member serves a four-year term and is appointed by the Newton County Board of Commissioners as follows: a nonpartisan appointee who serves as Chairman, an appointee from the local Democratic Party and an appointee from the local Republican Party.

The Newton County Board of Elections serves as the Superintendent of Elections for Newton County and is responsible for seeing that all voter registration and the conduct of elections comply with the laws set forth in the Georgia Election Code and the Rules and Regulations promulgated by the State Election Board.