Newton County Bicentennial Celebration

Newton County is excited to celebrate its 200th anniversary in 2021 with events to mark the occasion throughout the year.

Newton County was created by an act of the Georgia legislature on December 24, 1821 out of pieces of what were originally Baldwin, Jasper, Walton and Henry County.

In the last 200 years, Newton County has become a leading county in Georgia in industry, tourism, small town charm and a wonderful place to live, visit and do business.

From our beginnings as a carriage stop hub and a railroad town to a thriving community with six distinctive municipalities Newton County is poised to use its rich history to move forward as #OneNewton.

Image of Bicentennial Logo

It is hereby proclaimed ...

Newton County's 200th birthday has been acknowledge by the state and local governments with proclamations throughout the year 2021. Proclamations were read and presented to the Newton County Bicentennial Committee starting with Newton County's own in January.

State Senator Tonya Anderson

Image of State Legislation Proclamation

Covington Mayor Steve Horton

Image of Covington Proclamation

Image of Six Municipalities

June 2021

30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
View All Dates